Report on YDL LAG


Lower age group fixture at Tipton

                                                            Banbury Harriers

                                               YDL Lower Age Group at Tipton

                                                           Saturday 21st May

 Variable weather conditions on Saturday saw a predictably low turn out of athletes at the second round of the Youth Development League LAG meeting at Tipton, but didn’t hamper successes.

 Billy Mellor-Brook in his first competition of the season won the under-15 800m B-string pipping Stanley Bull in the A-string, while Bull took the 300m B-string - Oskar Moyart took 3rd in the A-string, and won the long jump B-string, also finishing 3rd in A-string javelin.

Will Andrews brought more accolade with 3rd in both 100m and 200m A-string

 Maddie Cooper gave a stirling performance in 100m A-string for the under-15s, and Lizzie Eskender took 2nd in hammer A-string with a new PB. Maia Cook took 2nd in long jump B-string.

 Under-13 boys had a great debut performance from Ryan Barnby, with personal bests in 100m, 200m and long jump, with Christopher Charles winning the 75m hurdles and high jump, and 2nd in 100m. Charlie Evans grabbed 3rd in javelin A-string.

 The under-13 girls fared well, with Sophie Howie claiming 1st and a PB in 75m A-string, with another 1st and PB in high jump alongside a 1st for teammate Tegan Armstrong in the A-string. Raegan Sellers won 150m A-string, claiming 3rd in Long Jump-A and a PB in both, while Lizzie Anderson took 2nd in the B-string. In the 70m hurdles, Armstrong again claimed 1st, with Maddy Dowden taking 2nd in the B-string, and also 1st in shot putt B-string with a PB.

A good performance with reduced numbers as we head towards Match 3 in this strong league.

The photographs are of Christopher Charles in the Hurdles, Maddy Dowden in shot putt, Raegan Sellers in the 150m, Bill Mellor-Brook in the 800  and Lizzie Anderson in the Long jump. Full results for this league are on the YDL web site.

website cms powered by csb internet